Audio recitation of six books of Hadeeth

The six books of hadeeth are also known at the “Kutub al Sittah”. They include:

Kutub al-Sittah
  • Sahih al-Bukhari.
  • Sahih Muslim.
  • Al-Sunan al-Sughra.
  • Sunan Abu Dawood.
  • Sunan al-Tirmidhi.
  • Sunan ibn Majah.

With regard to Saheeh al-Bukhaari and Saheeh Muslim, the ummah accepts the ahaadeeth that are contained in these books, and they are agreed that everything in them is saheeh apart from a very few phrases which al-Bukhaari and Muslim narrated in order to explain why they are not sound, either explicitly or implicitly, as the scholars who wrote commentaries on these two books, such as Shaykh al-Islam Ibn Taymiyah (may Allaah have mercy on him), have explained. With regard to the other books of Sunan, they are not free of some da’eef (weak) ahaadeeth here and there. Some of them are noted as such by the authors themselves, and others have been pointed out by other scholars. They did not point out all the weak ahaadeeth, because they narrated the ahaadeeth with their isnaads, so it is easy for the scholars to tell the saheeh ahaadeeth from the da’eef by checking the chain of narrators and knowing who is reliable and who is weak.

Among the famous scholars in this field were Ahmad, al-Daraqutni, Yahya ibn Ma’een, Ibn Hajar, al-Dhahabi, al-Waaqi and al-Sakhaawi.

It is important for the student of knowledge to familiarize himself with them. The following links are for downloads of their audio recitation.




Abu Dawud:


Ibn Majah:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *